Facing West From California’s Shores

 

Facing west, from California’s shores,

Inquiring, tireless, seeking what is yet unfound,

I, a child, very old, over waves, towards the house of maternity, the land of migrations, look afar,

Look off the shores of my Western Sea – the circle almost circled;

For, starting westward from Hindustan, from the vales of Kashmere,

From Asia – from the north – from the God, the sage and the hero,

From the south – from the flowerly peninsulas, and the spice islands;

Long having wander’d since – round the earth having wander’d,

Now I face home again – very pleas’d and joyous;

(But where is what I started for, so long ago?

And why is it yet unfound?)

-Walt Whitman

walt whitman

walt whitman

My recent obsession with walt whitman’s poetry was, ironically, inspired by a Levi’s jeans commercial that featured whitman’s poems “Pioneers! O, Pioneers” and “America”.  After my last post, it seems like this was just what I needed in my life.  Just thought I would share that.

One response to “Facing West From California’s Shores

  1. I can’t claim myself to be a true fan on the account that I found it on a magnet, but have you read ‘this is what you shall do’? one of my all times favs.

Leave a Reply

