Gatsby References Abound

The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

Being someone with a lot usually on his mind, I thought it would be neat to start a blog and really reap the succulent fruits of my idle thinking.   If you know me well, you probably understand the reference to the agonist of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “The Great Gatsby”.  More than a few times I have been told (in completely unrelated ways) that I act like Jay Gatsby; I always believe in the “green light”.  If you haven’t read The Great Gatsby (and I recommend you do), Jay Gatsby is a man forever lingering on his past and always dreaming of the future – represented in the book by a green light.  I chose the picture I recently took of the pier in Santa Monica because it reminds me a lot of the famous cover of The Great Gatsby

While Gatsby could at times overwhelm himself with his unsuccumbing focus, I like to think of myself as a milder romantic.  I believe hope is a powerful weapon.  Heck, it won Barack Obama an election.

Anyways, the point of this post is to present a theme for this blog.  Writing that sentence felt terrible… but although many of my posts will undoubtedly be stupid, immature or irrelevant, I hope that my ramblings will inspire my friends to believe in the green light, too.

Leave a Reply

